100 Days of Ties: Day 87, continuing with the bow ties, Jimmy Buffett and dreaming of boat drinks.

Astute at the desk reading Jimmy Buffett lyrics.

I don’t really care how hokey people think Jimmy Buffett is. I have always liked his catchy feel-good tunes. Hell, I’ve even had a cheeseburger in paradise… Or so, up until just recently, I thought I had. From Wiki: According to Buffett’s Margaritaville web site, the myth of the “cheeseburger in paradise” was inspired by a boat journey Buffett once took in the Caribbean. Buffett states that while subsisting on canned food and peanut butter, he envisioned eating a “piping hot cheeseburger”. He reports that upon finally arriving in Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands, he was surprised to find a restaurant serving American cheeseburgers.

Feel Good Mustached Man

All the while I thought the one I had in Cabbage Key was the famous meat. Regardless, the burger I had was that good. Heaven on Earth with an onion slice good. I liked mine with french fried potatos and a big kosher pickle. However, I was only 13 so no cold draft beer. Only Coke. Which worked fine as well. …Now back to dreaming of warm beaches, bikini girls, boat drinks and writing island-inspired jams… while it’s 7 degrees outside my window.

Submissions

Ryan / denimdiary.net - Steeze 101 is in session. When this professor looks into the mirror, "Hello, Class" takes on a whole new meaning. Paul of Graham Withers was kind enough to inspire me with a new tie. Everything you see here was all the tie's fault. I can't take any credit. Rugby jacket, Land's End Canvas Sweater, Vintage OCBD, Penguin Black Label pants, Oxblood Weejuns. Only the necessary learning materials. If you'll excuse me, I have to go tutor some co-eds in chemistry.

Drake / givemeindiana.tumblr.com - A nice full day of work; body & mind. Uspa gingham shirt Dockers D3 rugged khakis Bingham tie Carhartt triple needle belt

Brent / dimpledfourinhand.wordpress.com - Still trying to get the hang of picture taking in the new office. Today's tie is a Tommy Hilfiger and the shirt is TM Lewin. Is it freakin' cold or what? ;)

Jay / brooklynesque.tumblr.com - vintage tie & tweed, banana republic shirt

David / TheNaturalAristocrat.com / Tie by Rivetz of Boston / Shirt by Land's End / Jacket by Jaymar / Polo RL khakis and Walk Over bucks below

Now to get through the workday and find a place downtown where I can get an umbrella in my drink regardless of the poison in the glass. Whiskey & Diet. And do you have any swords and umbrellas or frilly crap you can also throw in there? If not, cool, I brought my own…

Update to the 100 Days of Ties Party

Hit The Links

NYC Party RSVP – NOW

Submit your 100 Days pictures here

5 responses to “100 Days of Ties: Day 87, continuing with the bow ties, Jimmy Buffett and dreaming of boat drinks.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 100 Days of Ties: Day 87, continuing with the bow ties, Jimmy Buffett and dreaming of boat drinks. | the momentum of failure -- Topsy.com

  2. I’m with you, Will.
    Schoolboy Heart is a certified feel good jam!

  3. Excellent Will you killed it with the bowtie today and I’m now craving a cheeseburger!

  4. i’ve always had trouble with Buffett… mostly because I’ve equated listening to him with shopping at Tommy Bahama. Not for me.

    But , that isn’t to say that there are still some gems in there. “Hello, Texas” from the Urban Cowboy Soundtrack stands as one of my favorite songs growing up.

Leave a Reply

