Worship Your False Idols, Dude: Owning the Modern Amusement Icon

maiconIt’s like this and like that and like this and, uh. Last night was a messy one. I lost all concept of time around 7:30 or so. I watched three movies, one of which was Without a Paddle. Yeah, that’s the cinematic masterpiece starring the likes of Seth Green, Matthew Lillard, and Dax Shepard. Tremendous, tremendous performances. Really. A troupe of three BFFs that go searching for gold and end up finding themselves in sticky situation after sticky situation. Didn’t see that coming, no sir. I thought it was going to be a nature documentary. And I thought Al Gore’s movie was going to be a ribald comedy of errors. Wait, wasn’t it? Burn. Anywho, I tried to watch some other stunningly amazing masterpiece after that but ended up taking pictures of my favorite watch instead. The Modern Amusement Icon has been in my family for years (Editor’s note: It’s been about one year and only I’ve owned it). It’s heavy (not too heavy), big (not too big) and in my eyes, the perfect timepiece. Without fail, I get comments on it each and everytime it’s on my frail wrist. Frail? I meant MANLY! Where’s my chainsaw? I took more pictures….maicon1maicon2maicon3

3 responses to “Worship Your False Idols, Dude: Owning the Modern Amusement Icon

  1. I just got one a few months ago, and the edges of the eyelets on the strap have been fraying. Is this happening to you too? Does it get worse?

  2. Pingback: 100 Days of Ties: Day 5 – Casual Friday / Mixing Patterns | the momentum of failure

Leave a Reply

