I always mean to start collecting matches.

SweetOrrMatchbookWhenever I come across a sweet matchbook at a bar/restaurant/venue/etc., I get this grandiose plan and think, “Sunofagun, this is a cool set of wooden sticks with a wicked neat color on top. I’m going to grab a handful, save one for the collection, and burn stuff with the other 9…” It never goes as planned and I usually end up wither losing said matchbooks, burning them all in a pyro-junkie-induced haze, or merely getting bored and saying, “Collecting matchbooks is for old ladies and shut-ins….which I am totally not!” Last night, I took Ben to My Brother’s Bar for one of Denver’s best burgers as it was his last night in town. As is routine, I grabbed 4 or 5 packs of matches from the cup on the bar and stuffed them in my pocket. I got home and put them in the coffee tin above my fridge I dedicate to matches. I probably won’t think about them for a few months…because I have a lighter.

One response to “I always mean to start collecting matches.

  1. Amazing & I am freaked out.

Leave a Reply

