Just a moment, please.

usaflagSeptember 11, 2001. Colorado State University. Fort Collins, CO – I was sleeping off a night of college party keg stands and bad pizza when I first heard the news. My roommate at the time came into my room and notified me that someone flew a plane into the World Trade Center in NYC. “That moron’s gonna get fired for sure,” I said, not knowing the severity of the situation. I didn’t have class until noon but thought it a good idea to check out the news. Not two minutes after I flipped on the set, the second plane was coming in. That’s when it hit me. “This isn’t an accident. What the hell is happening?”

Numbed and confused, I went to class. I don’t even remember if I got dressed or wore my pajamas. The campus was abuzz with frantic electricity, shouts and cries, cell phone calls, and the general feeling of “something’s amiss.” I called my mom. She apologized. She said she was sorry we had to witness such a horrific event. I accepted the apology with a “you don’t need to apologize” tone. That’s the only conversation, aside from my roommate waking me up, that I remember from that day.

Though I don’t remember anything that transpired in my personal life, I will never forget where I was on 9/11/01. Where were you?

Will (@MomentumFailure)

2 responses to “Just a moment, please.

  1. I was in college. I remember my roomie telling me a plane had crashed into the WTC & as someone who has eaten at The Windows of The World numerous times with my grandmother (who grew up in the Bronx) – this had my attention.

    We flipped on the TV and suddenly, the reporter at ABC from our local Philadelphia affiliate said,”Holy shit another plane is coming!” I remember saying – “Did they just curse on TV?” And I remember it was that moment – the cursing – that I knew something really awful was happening to our world. The plane attacks were not registering in my head – I could not process the magnitude of seeing that on air or hearing about Shanksville, PA (which still has no memorial for the record – I’ve been out there) – but hearing a reporter curse – for whatever reason – meant that this was beyond serious.

    As someone who has lived in NYC for a little over 6 years, I can tell you that on today – despite my qualms about this city and the people – I am thankful for my life here. It takes grit and courage to live here – it’s not easy – it’s why most do not even attempt to live here. And as such, I was honored to ride the bus and subways today – to see my fellow commuters, my NYers – continuing forward – going to work – reflecting on this day (and vowing never to forget), but to show the world that we’re better and more successful. That this tragedy will not cripple our city or spirit.

    And I’d also like to say – let us never forget the people & children on United Airlines Flight 93, AA Flight 11, United Airlines 175, & AA Flight 77 and those lost in the Pentagon.

    I look forward to the government getting on the ball and placing memorials in ALL places and for ALL people who died that day.

  2. I too was in college and was sleeping at the time of the attacks. Suddenly my roommate barged in and woke up saying that we were under attack. I told him to “shut the f@<k up and quit playing jokes."

    Eventually he convinced me to get up and look at the TV and sure enough, both towers were on flames.

    Everyone in our dorm stayed glued to the lobby TV for hours.

Leave a Reply

