Taking one for the team: Tactical Bacon. Kid tested, Lure approved.

tacbacAfter the initial “Oh, crap what did I get myself into” wore off, I sacked up and took the can opener to the Tactical Bacon my friends at ThinkGeek sent me. I suppose I should be careful what I wish for when it comes to offering to review products for people. When you think about it, TacBac is basically a new form of Spam. Canned meat, ya know? And while this stuff was all abuzz in the blogosphere a week or so ago, not one of the “reposting” blogs manned up and actually tried it.

tacbac1I like to think of the Lure as more than just a reposting site, as you can’t swing a dead cat without hitting one. What we post has been/currently is/will be part of our collection of clutter in our personal lives, with a few obvious and glaring exceptions. Upon opening the can, I was presented with a roll of greasy paper with 18 servings of the cured meat wrapped within it. It was a pain in the ass getting it out, and I had to wash my hands 3 times before the grease/bacon scent came off. It reminded me of my days at Quizno’s and when we would receive our bacon stock on the same paper.

tacbac2So, as promised, I took a few strips from the paper and contemplated deeply as they lay before me on the plate. “Okay, buddy. Canned bacon. You ready?” I patted my stomach and apologized to it in advance if anything happens. Chomp, chomp. Well how about that. It tasted like bacon. Good bacon. Not great bacon. That said, if you have $17 burning a hole in your pocket or happen to be attending a White Elephant party soon, grab a can. I mean, why not, right?

Will (@MomentumFailure)

4 responses to “Taking one for the team: Tactical Bacon. Kid tested, Lure approved.

  1. A perfect white elephant or Yankee swap gift…
    I will see if we can add it to one of our markets in the online version of the party…

    Thanks for the tip

  2. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Taking one for the team: Tactical Bacon. Kid tested, Lure approved. « the momentum of failure [momentumoffailure.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  3. bless this post with love,peace,respect and success.

    just let love be

Leave a Reply

