If home is where the heart is, mine is surrounded by exposed bricks and vanilla candles.

scentofscandalI recently snagged new bedding from West Elm and must say that since I draped my bed with it, I’ve had the best nights of sleep ever. The old adage of “you can never spend too much in the bedroom” is true, granted I did shop the sale section. Still….Best. Sleep. Ever. And last night? I let a vanilla candle burn in the bedroom for a few hours. It prepped the room with a warming, fresh scent so by the time I was able to stumble already half-asleep into it, the aroma sunk deep into every nook and cranny. Thankfully, I was cognizant enough to remember to blow the candle out before entering REM state. A few weeks back, well, I wasn’t so lucky. Different room, but I’ll be damned if that effing candle didn’t ruin my countertop. Blast!

Not that I’m a huge candle guy or anything, and frankly, having lots of them burning conjures up mental images of “cat people” and old ladies. I just enjoy the simple fragrances from time to time. Sort of like how realtors will burn a “fresh baked cookie” candle before an open house. It’s warming and welcoming. And I am very particular with the scent I choose. Who am I kidding? It’s really only vanilla. One time, though, I did snag a birthday cake one. That was rad.

Will (@MomentumFailure)

One response to “If home is where the heart is, mine is surrounded by exposed bricks and vanilla candles.

  1. Lavender candles = weakness

Leave a Reply

