My cabin in the woods: Where proper footwear is required to avoid another bout of hypothermia.

sorelThere’s this joke that goes, “What’s the difference between a Summit Count girl and a grizzly bear?” Answer? About 150 lbs and a pair of Sorels. Yeah it’s a bit cruel, but I didn’t write it, I just overheard it. So before you come at me with leers and jeers, keep that in mind. Though the joke is mildly amusing, there’s nothing funny about not dressing proper in the hills when Winter hit, especially when it comes to footwear. I remember last year going out for firewood in the dark of night, trudging through the snow, and wearing, stupidly enough, a pair of tennis shoes. And I wondered why I was cold all night. Gee, Will, maybe get some boots.

acornAnd after coming in from that cold wood-hunt, I remember looking vigorously through my overnight for my moccs. Nope. Forget em back in Denver. This year is all about the boy scout motto: Always be prepared. It took close to two days to get feeling back in my toes. Even just thinking about how cold I was that night is reason enough to snag a new pair of slippers to replace my worn out old ones. And on that note, who wants to hang in the mountains this winter? Hassle the townies? Make fun of the snowboarders all-over prints? Drink some margs? Let me know.

Will (@MomentumFailure)

2 responses to “My cabin in the woods: Where proper footwear is required to avoid another bout of hypothermia.

  1. Would love to, if I could. Sounds like a great way to spend the winter.

    Sorels are the way to go. Worth every dime. I spent a winter working 5:00 AM starts in 40 below and my Sorels didn’t let me down for an instant. They’ve got to be 9 – 10 years old now, and they just don’t quite.

  2. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for My cabin in the woods: Where proper footwear is required to avoid another bout of hypothermia. « the momentum [momentumoffailure.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

