I knew a Tanner in elementary school and haven’t met one since.

Tanner WalletI was thinking about friends gone by and realized just how fickle and funny life can be. Kids I knew in grade school, those with whom which was close chums, I have not heard from nor thought of since. Perhaps it was Homer Simpson sarcastically ragging on Bart about how he would always be friends with Milhouse because grade-school friends are forever. After which he launched into a rendition of “Stand By Me.” I did know a Tanner throughout grade and middle school, but I have not met another one to this day. Good to see the name is not only alive and well, but coming at me these days in wallet/cardholder form.

Tanner Collar It’s this sentimental nostalgia I oftentimes find myself drifting into when I take long walks through my neighborhood. I catch myself thinking about love lost, what could have been, how terribly some people have aged, life choices and what-ifs. Soon enough, I’m going to need more than wandering into traffic to snap me out of it. The of a leash attached to my dog’s collar should do the trick. But until the day I use my pup as a mental vent, I suppose almost being run down by SUVs will have to work.

Will

3 responses to “I knew a Tanner in elementary school and haven’t met one since.

  1. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for I knew a Tanner in elementary school and haven’t met one since. « the momentum of failure [momentumoffailure.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  2. ha! I saw Tanner a few months ago, he actually works with Chris App’s sister, small world. He looks the same, a little gray hairs about it!

Leave a Reply

