The Bowmentum of Failure: My Rugby Fortress, a glass of wine, Kansas University, and my toast to the happy couple.

Rugby FortressI made no secret of my nervousness of giving my first best man speech this past weekend at my buddies wedding in Lawrence, KS. In fact, when all was said and done and I spoke in front of a room of strangers at Tellers, I sent a few tweets expressing the relief I felt of having gotten through it. As I stood outside soaking in some fresh air after feeling stuffed in confining and gripping atmosphere, I noticed something. Maybe it was the leers and jeers and snickers and giggles and points and “Dude, check out the fag,” but I wager I was the only bloke wearing a bow tie in the town of Lawrence…perhaps even the state of Kansas…and furthermore, Missouri.

Wisconsin Bow TieWow, though. One thing about that town? They take their Jayhawks effing seriously. You can’t swing a dead cat without hitting a KU souvenir shop. At first it’s endearing: It’s awesome to see a town unified like that, all cheering for the same team, etc. Then it becomes a little annoying as you try to walk down the street and get looks for not wearing team colors/garb. We don’t much have that in Denver or Boulder or even Fort Collins for that matter. Next time I find myself in a college town, I should think about sporting their university bow tie. And since I am in no way a KU fan, I quite like Wisconsin for no reason other than they are the Badgers. Heh, Badger.

Will

One response to “The Bowmentum of Failure: My Rugby Fortress, a glass of wine, Kansas University, and my toast to the happy couple.

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

