Reconsidering becoming a “Robe Guy” thanks to L.L. Bean’s Rugby.

LL Bean RugbyIt must’ve been when I was, oh, about 10 or 11 years old, but I can remember vividly wanting nothing but a robe for Christmas. I probably saw it on TV or in a magazine or something; That part I don’t remember. But when I woke up on that cold December 25th morning, ran downstairs, delighted in the plethora of gifts exploding from under the decorated pine tree, I was about to be the happiest boy in the world. It was almost instinctual that I chose the gift-wrapped box containing the object of my desire first. After I stole the robe out from its packaging, I promptly excused myself to put it on. I mean, how else was I going to enjoy the rest of the present opening? Robeless? I think not.

erezI wore that robe until the stitching gave out, the sleeves got raggedy, and the belt frayed in two. Since, I haven’t had the desire to own another. Call it a passing fancy, but that’s pretty much how my tastes go. Last year, I snagged myself a Union Suit from JCrew. Best pajama purchase ever. And yes I realize that link provided is for the women’s Union Suit, but I think she has a cute behind and it was worth linking to. At any rate, I think this year I will be adding L.L. Bean’s Rugby Robe to my Christmas list…or birthday wants. Having a December birthday is good and bad for the obvious reasons. It’s time to rekindle my robe-ness. 2010 is going to be a big year. And I want to do it in style and comfort… and in a robe. Because, who knows? Maybe I will start a new business and have the luxury of working from home. Then it’s clothing OPTIONAL.

Will

Leave a Reply

