A good idea is one worth stealing. A nod towards my friend for the Penfield reminder.

Picture 1Given that it has been in the upper 60’s lately around Denver, there hasn’t been much need for the Winter garb. I am going to complain about the sunny days, although they are getting shorter thanks to falling back an hour. It was actually kind of funny to see the world react to this change via social networking. Hashtags about the ludicrousness of the time shift, angry status updates, and WTF email forwards we abound, as well as some radio DJs ranting and raving about it. Me? I could care less, really. Let the clocks do as they may. I wake up, work, go home, sleep, and do it all over again until the weekend comes. Then it’s party time, aka, get the hell out of the city for a few.

Penfield1Although it has been hot and mild in town, the mountains have already seen their fair share of snow and dropping temperatures. It’s perfect Penfield weather is what it is. And honestly, I wouldn’t have thought about the brand today if it had not been for a friend of mine reminding me just how choice their F/W 09 line is. As I’ve mused before, I am not a fan of wearing the same gear I hit the slopes in that night when I wreck Breckenridge. It stems mainly from how goofy the townies look in their “shredder” gear. Seriously, mate, the goggles-around-your-neck-look is just plain ridiculous at 10pm in a tequila bar. Yeah, I don’t care if they go with your all-over print hoodie fleece, and, wait a second, are you still wearing your snowboard pants? Alright. I’m outta here. Like Doug. Me and my bow tie. Goodnight.

Will

4 responses to “A good idea is one worth stealing. A nod towards my friend for the Penfield reminder.

  1. I share the same sentiments on “shredder” gear. The Penfield puffers are solid gear—top drawer.

  2. I must say, I have been guilty of the “still wearing my snowboarding pants and goggles at 10pm” charge (even at 2:30am) but sometimes, when you live in a ski-town (mine was Steamboat Springs, Ski-Twon U.S.A.), you get off work (on the mountain) and going home, or even to the locker room, to change just seems like a waste of good drinking time. classic function-before-fasion, no?

    • momentumoffailure

      There are exceptions to every rule, indeed. This being one of them.

      • Oh do not get me wrong sir, I am not trying to insinuate that I am an exception, far from it, I do believe that I bore the standard for all wasted early 20’s snowboard bums for those years I spent at Steamboat. I am merely attempting to relate to you a glimpse into the thought process of a drunken, fashion backward ski-bum.

Leave a Reply

