The forgotten art of written correspondence: The Forgetful Gentleman Letterpress Elephant Cards

I’ve made no secret my preference for a text message over a phone call as I feel an SMS is a valid form of communication. But it fails miserably when it comes to things like intonation and the fine art of sarcasm that can only be read via voice inflection. Apparently my friend did like the home-baked cookies I sent. See? A simple phone call could have avoided hurt feelings. C’est la vie. In fact, it hasn’t been until recently that I have enjoyed once again actually using the “phone” feature on my handheld device. So i am currently reviving that as well.

Taking even one step back from the art of a good phone conversation, I have decided, as well, to start sending more hand-written letters to family and friends around the country and beyond. Dropping a dime on a good stationary set should be atop your list for 2010 resolutions. I came across the Forgetful Gentleman yesterday coincidentally and may budget in their Letterpress Elephant Card set, assuming relatives send cash instead of clothing for Christmas. “Will, as you age, we realize that your tastes have changed. Enjoy this money, and buy yourself something nice.” I like seeing that in cards. Especially when it’s handwritten, in a card, with a check, and not an email with a Paypal link. First: Get stationary. Second: Stock up on cologne so my letters smell nice. Third: Send letters.

5 responses to “The forgotten art of written correspondence: The Forgetful Gentleman Letterpress Elephant Cards

  1. I write handwritten letters for all thank you & sympathy notes. Letter writing is almost a lost art these days.

  2. Well said. I know what I’m buying next week.

    For a few years, I’ve been saving those restaurant postcards they give you in NYC as backing to sign credit card receipts. I scrawl a short review of my meal (“Burger was ok. Cute waitress. B+”) and send off to a friend in Seattle. When I visited him in October I saw his fridge door was full of my postcards. A nice moment.

    • momentumoffailure

      Haha. I used to do the same with the restaurant postcards. That was until I found a hair in a dish and decided I no longer want to remember certain occurrences. Then it all fell by the wayside.

  3. I adore not only letterpress but also hand-written notes…inspires me to practice my penmanship.

  4. Pingback: Becoming a better man: Upping My Game via Written Correspondence « the momentum of failure

Leave a Reply

