It’s so literal: The Red Wing Gentleman Traveler Boot

It’s like a forklift lifting a crate of forks, ya know? Ah, man. I really miss Mitch. By the end, though, it was just sad to watch him murmur jokes from his plasticine face. Tragic, really. Oh well. We have Brian Regan still. In fact, I’m going to see him in February. Happy Valentine’s day from mom. Before that though, it would appear I have itinerary to visit, for the first time, a city that has long been on my list of destinations: Nashville, TN. It only took me some 5 years to finally get out there, but I have finally booked a ticket, found lodging, and have a whole slew of what I am told are to be sock-knocking-off plans. I think saying I am excited is the understatement of the century.

To occupy myself in the meantime so as to not go crazy with anticipation, I have made public my want for a new pair of boots. While the Sorels and duck boots I have written about as of late are indeed high quality choices, my attention always comes back to the boots of Red Wing. I stumbled across the Gentleman Travelers this past weekend and, I must say, have sort of fallen head over durable boot sole for them, scouring the web for the best price. Price, though, I’ve been told should play no factor when purchasing Red Wings, as they are a boot you will most likely have for the rest of your life. I should think of it more as an investment versus a purchase. When you put it that way, hell, $500 for boots that pay themselves off even sounds like a good deal. The Travelers aren’t that high on the price scale, but you get the point. Now the question remains: Chestnut or Black Cherry? Thoughts?

6 responses to “It’s so literal: The Red Wing Gentleman Traveler Boot

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention It’s so literal: The Red Wing Gentleman Traveler Boot « the momentum of failure -- Topsy.com

  2. I like the sole on these. Not too big and bulky, a lot more urban looking. Does the tread look a little too tire-like? I dunno. The more I look at them, the more I like them.

  3. Pingback: Redecoration, confort, and gift cards: West Elm blankets for all. « the momentum of failure

  4. I have been looking for a good set of durable boots to grow old with, and I settled upon these as well. I haven’t purchased them yet, but I’ll probably go with the Chestnut.
    Also, I live in Nashville; how did your trip go? What did you check out?

    • momentumoffailure

      You won’t be disappointed in the Gentleman Travelers, my friend. Worth the price and very durable. Size down, though. They run big. I can only wear them with thick, wool socks, so really they are my cold-weather boots.

      Nashville was a helluva time. Went out there to see my friend, Amy. Saw the CMHoF, shopped Billy Reid, went to Trader Joe’s (don’t have em in Colorado), and saw some good rockabilly bands. Good times. Need another trip there.

Leave a Reply

