Happenstance, late for a lunch meeting, and the last of the J. Crew tartan ties.

On top of the already good week I am having and following last week, which was among perhaps the best so far in 2009, yesterday proved quite the fruitful chain of events. As I set out for a lunch meeting in north Cherry Creek, relatively close to my office, i decided I would stroll through the mall beforehand. It has become almost second-nature to pop into J. Crew while strolling the corridors. And, as always, Ryan, whom I have referred to many times, was working. I don’t mind that he knows my name and knows I come in quite frequently as he’s a friendly guy, and I am trying to figure out if there’s a way to see if he wants to grab a beer sometime without coming off as, well, hitting on him or anything. Any insight on how to successfully accomplish this would be greatly appreciated. Anyhow, I asked for a tartan tie for my stocking this year, and I was a little bummed to see that they were sold out on JCrew.com. This prompted the trip into Crew to see if they still had them stocked. They did. And one is on hold.

While a good $60 or so of my funds have been set aside for the Giles bow from Pierrepont Hicks, I was looking closer at their ties, realizing that, “Oh well if the Crew sells the last of their tartans before I can get one around my neck. There are more out there…” After I put the tie on hold, I decided I better get to said lunch “date.” Of course, she was a half hour late. And of course West Elm was across the street. And of course I went in and may or may not have scored a bridge table and bookshelf for the combined price of $98, where buying them at full price would have been $480. Deal? Deal. And on top of that, my lunch meeting paid the tab for my salad and her chicken fingers. Which was proper etiquette seeing as how lunch was her idea and I had to listen to a sales pitch.

Leave a Reply

