The Continued Quest for Boots: The L.L. Bean Bison and/or the Chuck Taylor All Star Woolrich Outsider

Granted I put the Gentleman Travelers on my Christmas list this year, and with any luck, after next Friday my feet will be all the more merrier sporting said boots, the intent of owning those are more for everyday, in and out of the office, wear. This leaves me still hunting for an outdoorsy boot, equipped to handle the slushy city dirt-snow as well as the freshly fallen pure white powder in the mountains. Enter two new contenders for the coveted slot. While I am still taken with the Sorels posted awhile back, I have been watching many an auction for a set of Bean Boots, realizing that going to the source itself is not all the much more expensive. Besides, unless we’re talking an old pair of Irish Setters, new is better than old, or as some folks try to gussy it up as, “vintage.” Sorry, dude. i see through that. And in what realm of any sort of reality do you live would anyone think $30 is a fair shipping price?

With a little searching, I came across the Bean Bison and was drawn towards it. Maybe because my boss wore a pair of Duck Boots to the office last week and I got to see the look of them in person, I don’t know. But I do like the combo of the rugged upper/rubber lower. It’s a stunning and welcomed juxtaposition. And isn’t variety the spice of life? It is. Since I have some free time at night and early morning when I’m not working or being social, I continue on my search for a good boot. Would you trust Converse to fill the role with their Woolrich Outsider? Sure, they make a quality canvas shoe, but what’s to say that translates into bootwear? The boots do scream, “Take a chance on me,” but I am sort of sick of Abba right now. That said, is this an either/or question or a “Why not both,” type of thing?

5 responses to “The Continued Quest for Boots: The L.L. Bean Bison and/or the Chuck Taylor All Star Woolrich Outsider

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Continued Quest for Boots: The L.L. Bean Bison and/or the Chuck Taylor All Star Woolrich Outsider « the momentum of failure -- Topsy.com

  2. LL Bean. End of Story. I’m actually surprised you would even mention another option.

Leave a Reply

