Advice: Tuesdays with a pretty girl.

So you think you have it all figured out, huh? Or, perhaps you’re among the lot of us that, no matter how many girls have come and gone, you don’t understand them one bit. Personally, I am still trying to wrap my head around decisions made by a girlfriend from about 10 years ago. While I will never have a firm grasp on what the hell she was thinking, I have made a concerted effort to try and figure out things with the opposite sex from this point on. How? By asking them. Simple enough. So, in what is going to become a weekly feature on the site, gents take note of Tuesdays with a Pretty Girl. And since we all enjoyed her company the first go around, I thought the ideal female to kick this off would be Kate from BT Unique and her insights as to how to approach a girl. Because if you can’t do that, you’re dead where you stand.

I can tell you one thing for certain, every girl is different, and you will never find a playbook that will give you the step-by-step guide to approaching a girl.
I’d like to share some personal experiences with you. Learn, laugh, do as you please.
I was waiting for my train one night and noticed there was a not-so-secret admirer patiently awaiting the same train. When I got to my seat, he went on to sit in the seat in front of me. I almost lost hope, and then he turned around and asked me if I had a pen. It was a lame attempt to start up a conversation but what came after was sweet. “I wanted to write you a cute note,” he said and invited me to sit with him. This is just an example of how things can go wrong, but you have to be prepared. It was not cheesy, it wasn’t smooth either but it got the conversation going.
Another guy, came up to me at a show and offered me a CD of his band. While I wasn’t too impressed with the band, his bravery was something to admire. He made the conclusion that I was there to see the headlining band, and he was right. The dialogue went from there, ending up in me giving him my number. And let me assure you, it had little to do with his musical abilities but it definitely was a perk.
At a music venue one night, I noticed the bartender looking at me from across the room. His smile was intoxicating and his eye contact breathtaking. He closed the book he was reading and started up an innocent conversation. He told me that he found me cute in a much more eloquent way. He let his intelligence shine though which intrigued me and drew me in even more.
I can’t tell you what to say or how to act but I can definitely give you some things to think about as you approach a girl. If direct eye contact was established and she looks interested, do not chicken out. If you notice even a glimpse of a smile on her face, this is your green light to move in. At this point, think cute not cheesy and throw the ridiculous lines out of the window.  As you are approaching this lovely lady and excitement is clouding your mind, it’s time to figure out words that will be coming out of your mouth. You have to be Dr. House and be able to observe the girl you’re interested in, pick up on the little things and make necessary conclusions. If a girl is reading a book, pull out all of your expert book knowledge and strike up a conversation that will interest her. If she is eagerly typing on her bberry, whip out an interesting technology fact. Anything to get the conversation going, as long as it’s not some unintelligent piece of garbage, that’s girl-repellent. Make sure to flirt a little and not come on too strong, you don’t want to get stuck in the friend zone or come off as a rapist; flirt just enough to keep her interested. Plus if you have a gorgeous smile well that’s just the cherry on top of a delicious man-cake and brownie points for you.
No matter how shy you might be, Facebook is not the place to meet girls and neither is MySpace. I beg you, don’t do it. Nothing good will come out of this. Face to face is much better so learn to use big-boy words.
There is much more to the art of picking up a girl but here is something to get you started.

Until next time, boys!

You will be seeing much more of Kate in the future. In the meantime, feel free to ask questions in the comments section, and she will get to them at a surprisingly quick rate, I’m sure.

8 responses to “Advice: Tuesdays with a pretty girl.

  1. You flatter yourself sweetheart with all the tales of boys that come up and HAVE to flirt with you, so come on, let’s lose the glasses. And as you point out and then retract, there’s the words and then there’s the confidence, and really the words rarely matter, so Dr. House be damned. You could walk up to a girl and go “ME CAVEMAN – YOU GIRL- MY BED NOW”, and if you say it right it might just happen… or at least get a drink thrown in your face but that’s always fun too.

    • well… depends on the caliber of the girl you’re trying to attract. If you’re looking for an STD-full one-night stand, then maybe grunting and chest-pounding is the way. But if you’re looking for a quality girl, consider putting some effort into it.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Advice: Tuesdays with a pretty girl. « the momentum of failure -- Topsy.com

  3. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  4. Pingback: Tuesdays with a Pretty Girl: 10 Things Females Notice. « the momentum of failure

  5. Greetings from the U.K. Does anyone have any advice on staying out of the “Friend Zone” with women? I’m really tired of women telling me they “just want to be friends.”

  6. Hey everyone, greetings from France. This is a cool blog. Does anyone have any advice about staying out of the friend zone with women? Honestly I’m sick of women telling me they just want to be friends. Perhaps I’m being too nice?

Leave a Reply

