JFK, Johnston & Murphy, and a haircut.

I thought a lot, last night, about the iconic words of John F. Kennedy: Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country. Regardless of your political beliefs, this sentiment seems to have gone by the wayside as more and more people are looking for help-me-ups, handouts, stimulus funds, bailouts, the easy road, etc. What happened to working hard regardless of the promise of a reward? Not wanting to stroke my own ego or sit atop a high horse, but personally I know no other way than to work until my fingers bleed, even if it’s at a minimum wage job or, hell, writing Momentum. So, on this President’s Day 2010, I’d like to tip my hat to the leaders we’ve had throughout history that have instilled important values and strong ethics into the American people. And to think, when I was invited to Johnston & Murphy’s corporate office in Nashville, I was separated by a mere pane of glass from the footwear of some of these leaders. That was something else, indeed.

On another presidential note, how apropos is it that I had scheduled a haircut today with my new favorite stylist not knowing that it was President’s Day? Why, you ask? Because stuffed in my pocket is one great picture of JFK himself, sent my way by Sean at the Impossible Cool. While I’m taking care of that, check out the other presidents J&M has crafted footwear for.

Leave a Reply

