Press Paws: Bo the Blue Heeler and a Tanner Goods Collar

It’s no lie I’ve been wanting to adopt a dog for awhile now, gazing longingly at adoption sites, Craigslist postings, and even going so far as attending puppy fairs at Petsmart, as staunchly opposed to their practices as I am. This weekend I came across a handsome 1 year-old Blue Heeler named Bo. I’ve got an appointment to meet him and his owner this week and will let you know how this pans out. If all goes as planned, come this weekend, the young gent and I will be at the park, playing a game of fetch and meeting new, ahem, people. We can both even wear our Tanner leather to seal the deal .

Tanner Goods Collar

Tanner Goods Collar

The $125 re-homing fee even includes toys, brush, crate, bowls, food, leash, old collar (gotta upgrade), and treats. That alone is a deal. Plus I get the dog. One question remains: Is a 1 year old dog too old to go through a name change? I realize it’s all in how he’s responding to his current moniker, but I thought I would posit the inquiry just for good measure.

14 responses to “Press Paws: Bo the Blue Heeler and a Tanner Goods Collar

  1. Dogs respond quite well to changes in names.Most dogs do not respond specifically to names, but to the tones of an owner’s voice. Just make sure you condition him to it from the start. Whenever you say his name, make sure you say it excitedly. Whenever you are petting him or rewarding him for a trick, make sure you repeat his name over and over. Best of luck!

    • momentumoffailure

      Thanks. Yeah I’ve grown up with dogs my whole life. Though this will be the first I take on on my own. Excited, nervous, all that. Don’t have too much around the condo he can destroy save for a few remote controls and a chair that could actually use some “character.” I will keep the name change in mind. Bo, though, is a good name.

  2. Blue Heelers (Australian Cattle Dogs) are a wonderful breed. They do have a bit of energy, though. If you like playing fetch, they will run as far as you can throw a ball. Also, if you take them around little kids, they have a tendency to herd them (I see this as a hilarious bonus). One nice thing, though, is that they are generally quiet dogs. They do not like to bark.

  3. I adopted a weimaraner when he was 1.5 years old. His name was Smokey which is a great name for him but I wanted to give him a name like Dieter or Fritz to fit his heritage. After being with him a few days and reflecting on uprooting his life, he is Smokey. As you know, having a dog and it’s unconditional love for you is awesome. However, when you are the one entirely responsible for him, they are time consuming. I am up and out early each morning for a 2 mile quick walk…….every day, rain or shine. If I come in at 4AM, I am still up in a couple hours for that walk. He is relentless. I definitely adjust my schedule for feedings, walks, etc but when it comes down to him making me laugh daily, it is worth every minute. Good luck.

    • momentumoffailure

      I appreciate the sentiments, man. I know my schedule will have to change, but as I’ve sort of run into a rut recently, I think it could be a good thing. Not that I am using the dog as an excuse for change, but adding a new element to my life at this point in the game is where my heart and head are.

  4. the dog will let you know if he wants a new name or not. i adopted mine right before her 2nd birthday, and ended up keeping her name because it fit her so well and she knew it. but i’ve also adopted dogs in the past who were strays (eg., no known name) and handled the change just fine. there is research that indicates that dogs are able to “build” associative vocabularies, but that the process is on-going and adaptive. what matters most is that you shower the dog with love and adoration (with a stellar collar and matching leash) and he will reciprocate. blue heelers are also very smart dogs, and 1 yo is still quite young.
    i found stanley cohen’s “how dogs think” to be a really interesting and informative (if not always engaging) read when i adopted my girl, so you might give that a go.
    good luck!

    • momentumoffailure

      Thanks, Laura. I think I will stick with “Bo” as the Heeler’s name. I like it. I will check out “How Dogs Think” though.

  5. One other thing about adoption. The woman from the weimaraner club advised when going to see the dog for the first time, be very mellow and let the dog come to you first. Don’t call out his name. Let him warm up to you and he will let you know how he feels which can be important. She wanted to meet me the next day after I picked him up to check him out. Luckily, she said he was bonding to me very quickly.

    • momentumoffailure

      Fortunately, I am dealing with the dog’s current owner versus it coming from a shelter situation. That, off the bat, is a bonus as I don’t have to worry about diseases, if any, contracted from the semi-unsanitary conditions oftentimes found in shelters. That, and he’s been around other dogs, pets, and humans, so he is at least somewhat socialized.

  6. I adopted my dog from the previous owner. She had contacted the weimaraner club to find a good home for him. The woman from the weimaraner club got in contact with me through shelters I had contacted. She gave me that advice about approaching him. I lucked out not having to pay an adoption fee or anything else. He has definitely cost money over the years but worth every penny. Smokey just turned 7 this week and I still keep in touch with the previous owner by sending her photos and keeping her apprised of his activities. About a year ago she mentioned that her kids were asking about seeing him after almost 5 years but didn’t do it. I didn’t want to confuse him or have them feel any sorrow.

    • momentumoffailure

      Probably for the best. Like I said, I don’t mind the $125 rehoming fee. It shows at least the owner wants to have a bit of trust that the new owner will be serious. Plus it includes a lot of stuff that I would have had to buy anyway.

  7. I have a two year old Australian Cattle Dog and she is the best. They are smart, loyal, fun and social if trained properly. I would recommend against a name change since the dog will be going through a ton of changes with a new home, new family, new routine etc however, I know people who had no problems rescuing an older dog and changing the name. I wish you much luck and welcome any questions you may have about the breed.

    • Additionally, congrats to you for rescuing a dog. Thank you for having a kind, loving and warm heart. :-). The world needs more people like you.

  8. The dog in the photo is not Bo. This photo was used without my permission. That is MY Blue Heeler, Kenzie. Shame on you for pretending.

Leave a Reply

