Sitting at the Mafia Table: Romano’s of Littleton, CO

Antipasto Plate

Photo: pastafaire.com

Needless to say I was a tad surprised when my little brother decided on Romano’s for his birthday dinner this year. The main reason being he’s a stellar athlete that isn’t one for complex carbs such as pasta, etc. It was also surprising as we as a family haven’t been to the family-owned (since 1967) Italian eatery in ages. Stepping through the familiar doors, though, was a trip into the past. The decor hasn’t changed a lick since, well, I’m going to guess, 1967. We were asked by the super-cute hostess if we wanted to sit at the Mafia Table. That was an obvious “yes” and not just because I can’t say no to a pretty girl.  My dad played Don as my brothers and mother and me shot the breeze about movies and whacking people. Tearing into a few antipasto plates, meatballs, chicken parms, and baked ravioli dishes (not pictured, unfortunately), I realized how idiotic I was to have left my camera at home. Though, we were all engrossed in conversation and I didn’t want to be that guy snapping pictures while everyone else enjoyed chatting. Upon completion of meal and wine, spirits were high, and we left full and satisfied. If you’re in the area, I highly recommend checking it out. Me? It’s the spot for the next date. Whenever that is… It should be stated, too, that no matter what you order, I suggest tacking on a side of three or four meatballs with a heaping side of marinara for dipping. Just saying is all…

4 responses to “Sitting at the Mafia Table: Romano’s of Littleton, CO

  1. I know that it isn’t the point of the post, but that map is just amazing. How’d you do it? Sorta looks like a poster or postcard might. It’s great!

    • momentumoffailure

      Snagged it from their site actually. And if you follow it just right, you will enjoy some of the finest suburban italian food that’s not from a dumpy chain like Old Chicago, Fazoli’s, or Macaroni Grill.

  2. i live near Windermere in England!!

Leave a Reply

