Looking at the world through a windshield.

Plans for the vacation this Summer are up in the air, sure, but the allure of the open road, the deserts of southeast Colorado at dusk, the adventure of seeing new places by my lonesome, and not having any sort of agenda other than to just drive is topping the charts. Never done it, always wanted to, about time I did… I have always wanted to drive the 101 in its entirety (with or without Phantom Planet playing). What is for sure is that Commander Cody will be included on every playlist I create for this journey.

Dad got me into Hot Licks, Cold Steel, & Truckers Favorites at a young age, and I haven’t looked back since. In high school, the pop punk band in which I slappa-da-bass covered “Hot Rod Lincoln.” Something about a good truckin/hot rod song that makes me feel like a red-blooded American, and in turn want to see the purple mountains majesty from sea to shining sea.

See you on the road….

3 responses to “Looking at the world through a windshield.

  1. You know what this reminds me of, my playlist for the open road. I have many…music accompanies your memories, invokes feelings and most likely, will never leave the road trip you took.

    Have you heard of http://theplaylistproject.tumblr.com/? They’re amaze-sauce.

    Anyone can contribute, so you should, because its a playlist and a story each day! I love listening during the day at work (always a surprise).

    Here’s my open road playlist: http://theplaylistproject.tumblr.com/post/568176931/graceboyle Have a gander, listen up, and feel better 🙂

  2. I really want to do Historic Route 66: Chicago to LA. Long road trips just take so much time and rushing through is not the way to do it.

  3. No matter where you’re driving…www.roadsideamerica.com is essential! PS- I know where a beautiful 1975 Volvo Sedan is for sale!

Leave a Reply

