What’s with pockets on pajama pants?

I was listening to some Demetri Martin recently, and he’s got this bit about pj pants having pockets.

I got some new pajamas with pockets in ’em. Which is great, because before that, I used to have to hold stuff when I slept. But now I’m like, ‘Where’s my planner? There it is. “Keep sleeping.” All right, perfect.’

While this is chuckle-worthy and all, it got me to thinking, “Yeah. Why do my pajamas have pockets?” Some posit they exist for those “stay at home and never getting out of your pajamas” days so you can easily transport your cell or, perhaps, some cash if you gotta run to the 7-11 across the street for jerky and milk. Viable reasons, sure, but do they justify the need? I’ve seen some go as far as to include the back pocket, ususally designated on a regular pair of pants for the wallet. If you’re going somewhere in which you will be required to pull out your wallet, pajama pants are not acceptable. Picture if you will the type of person that wear sleepwear to travel. They are the same bunch that hold up security lines at the airport because they forgot to put their Pert Plus in a baggie.

So, my loyal readers, I implore you to inform me, What’s with pockets on pajama pants?

6 responses to “What’s with pockets on pajama pants?

  1. I say the pockets are for tissues and condoms. Tissues for the lady friend when you’re both snuggled up watching a “for her” movie. And condoms for..well..you know…

    I distinctly remember my old A&F PJ pants having a condom pocket on the inside of the waist band. Or at the very least I couldn’t imagine what else such a small pocket would be for. It’s totally something A&F would do.

    Also, pockets are perfect for that “why are you in your PJs at 4 in the afternoon?” moment. You can awkward put your hands in the pockets, shrug, and continue surfing the interwebs.

  2. I don’t actually sleep in PJs, so the pockets are for the same crap you normally carry around in your pocket when lounging around the house. Phone, stick of gum, lucky clover, etc.

  3. Coins for laundry, phone. Bumming around the house type of stuff.

  4. I’m a chapstick fanatic. so I appreciate pockets for that. but for guy’s pajamas? seems like a stylistic/irrelevant notion. could be used for a multitude of things… condoms, change for laundry, cell phone, etc. but unnecessary overall.

  5. Extra hand warmers while you sleep? Because that’s not an awkward sleeping pose. Yeah, great question.

  6. They are quite handy for holding insulin pumps! This way you don’t pull your site out by dropping the pump off the edge of the bed.

Leave a Reply

