Underdressed & Overtired: A weekend at the races in J.Crew.

L-R: Ferrari, my shadow.

I didn’t know what to expect, like I said. It has been ages since I’ve hiked a fourteener, and I have never been to the Pikes Peak Intentional Hill Climb. Needless to say, I had no idea how to pack. So, as you would have guessed, I packed poorly- not takin ginto account that, sure, while it was a scorching 98 degrees in Denver, the top of Pikes Peak saw much cooler, 39 degree temps. Yep, and there was rain and sleet and wind and all sorts of increment weather that at any other time of year I would have been well prepared for. However, on this certain day, I was throw for a loop in my recently purchased J. Crew polo, light H&M sweatshirt, windbreaker, and Levi’s.

Speaking of the Crew,  I realized that, via a comment from a new friend of mine on an older post of mine, I hadn’t check out the retailer in quite some time. Not that I’m in the business of saving money (which is probably a good idea, though), I haven’t actually driven my car in three weeks. When i started the new job, they gave me a bus pass. Read: I haven’t made it to the mall between night out in downtown, where the bus drops me, and taking full advantage of mass trans. That aside, I popped in, said hey to Ryan, snagged a new polo (which I wore all weekend, weather and change of clothes be damned), two pairs of pants, and almost the new J. Crew toggle sweater (pictured). Seeing it up close, I was taken with it, but having recently purchased a fisherman’s cable knit, I made the executive decision to not go forth. I wouldn’t have worn it to the Hill Climb, anyway. For that, next year, I’m thinking heavy parka, Under Armor tops and bottoms, wool socks, gloves, and a beanie. Polo? Hell yes.

6 responses to “Underdressed & Overtired: A weekend at the races in J.Crew.

  1. I do love that sweater, though.

  2. Keep those toggles away from the Ferrari!

    • momentumoffailure

      Most definitely. Don’t want to set off that car alarm whatsoever. Though I think it did go off the better part of 10 times. Kind of funny. The price you pay, I suppose, for bringing it out to the races.

  3. I managed to get a sunburned face and also be shivering cold as well.

    What an awesome weekend, the cars made it well worth it.

    • momentumoffailure

      Yeah it was a pretty epic event even with “Light on/Light off” losers. Next year we’ll have a better handle of what to wear/bring etc. Thanks for coming!

  4. Pingback: Taking the country roads home fast and in style: The Acura RSX « the momentum of failure

Leave a Reply

