Damn. I missed seeing a Skyline in person at Bull Run 2010.

Scene: I was waiting on the corner for my buddy, Dan, to swing by after work as he wanted me to hear the new exhaust he threw on his WRX wagon. I heard the rumble of what I thought was his rig down the street, but car after car that passed yielded no Dan. “What the hell,” I thought as I stood there puzzled and overheated in the 100 degree Boulder sun. Just then, he pulled up. But the rumble I heard was not of the WRX but of the cars gathered just a block away at the St. Julien.

Yep. It seemed that with all my auto-watching these days, I let the mother-effing Bull Run 2010 slip under my radar. How I didn’t know this was coming is beyond mest nights of my life, btw) I would have stuck around and snapped some pictures and chatted up the drivers and Amp Energy girls, even if just for free samples.

A small snippet from the Bull Run’s “about” page:

The Bullrun Live Rally is the most glamorous and high profile of the new breed of high-end luxury lifestyle automotive rallies. Each year, a hundred of the world’s finest super-cars embark on an epic eight-day rolling party across the USA – bringing together a celebrity strewn cast of characters and petrosexuals for an unforgettable adventure – where the only obligatory goals are to party, drive and enjoy!

Damn. I can dig that. Now I just need to become some sort of Arabian Prince, buy a Maserati (or Skyline, which I found out was parked in the garage below the hotel…) and get in on the game.

Thanks, though, to Dan for snapping some pictures. Check out more after the jump, and see a slideshow on his Tumblr site. And for the record, Dan’s WRX sounds mean as all get-out now. Choice.

One response to “Damn. I missed seeing a Skyline in person at Bull Run 2010.

  1. Pingback: Physically closer but still far off: Up close with the Nissan Skyline GT-R « the momentum of failure

Leave a Reply

