Physically closer but still far off: Up close with the Nissan Skyline GT-R

As if hanging out with my favorite people on the planet wasn’t enough to make this past weekend one of the best of my young life, I had to go ahead and add a few choice encounters to ramp it up even moreso. This one in particular was a bit of a milestone for me, as geeked out and simple as it may sound.

I have expressed my fondness for the Nissan Skyline GT-R in previous posts and highlighted how amazing I think it would be to own one. Then even more recently, I showed anger in missing the chance to see one in real life during Bull Run 2010 in Boulder, CO. So when I spied one blocks from where the lovely Amanda and I had brunch, there was little doubt I was going to slam on the brakes, flip a bitch, and get up close and personal with the car of my dreams.

Amanda, too, was a good sport in A) obliging me in taking pictures on front of the car and B) not making too much fun of me as I peered into the windows, etc. While getting this up close an dpersonal with Godzilla made the day all that much better, I still am no closer to actually obtaining one. But you know what? After the tremendous time I had in these past few days, ain’t nothin gonna get me down now. A new chapter in life has been opened, friends. And it looks like it’s going to be an interesting read…

8 responses to “Physically closer but still far off: Up close with the Nissan Skyline GT-R

  1. How could I not be a good sport!?! I have never seen you more excited. It was a fun thing to see.

  2. and cute as well 🙂

  3. Saw one on the highway in DC and immediately thought of you yesterday. That baby looks amazing up close. Mind you, my dad also passed it in his Hyundai Sonata. Dude didn’t know how to handle it, obviously.

  4. I’ve seen two of these in the wild. They are most definitely boss.

  5. I’m lucky enough that it’s not a rare car in Manchester, there’s also plenty of other amazing cars that you become quite immune to seeing them. The GTR though still looks stunning and out of this world, familiarity doesn’t lessen it’s impact. I’m constantly changing my mind if I was to spec on whether to go white, black, grey, red, vinyl wrapped matt grey (saw in my local supermarket!)….

    • momentumoffailure

      Yeah. This was, like I said, the first time I’ve seen one up close and personal. It was semi-life changing, as ridiculous as it sounds. It’s all about simple pleasures, ya know?

Leave a Reply

