All I need are some tasty waves, a cool buzz, and I’m fine.

As California has been on the brain as of late (even if it is nothing more than a mere pipe dream), I have been doing a tiny bit of research on neighborhoods most appealing to me, which friends I already have living on the coast, who would come with me, how much I would miss certain parts of the fine state of Colorado, and a plethora of other things that come along with contemplating a move. A move, though, is much more fun and dream-laden to talk about than to actually see through. And it always reminds me of that Mitch Hedberg joke

To further tempt/tease myself about the West Coast, I have had the OC on repeat, watched Spicoli and the gang last night, checked out some choice Warriors of Radness gear (got my eye on them Gourmet/WoR shoes, pictures below), been saying things like “radical” and “bodacious,” talking to Max about picking up a few extra shifts at The Max to help pay for prom, and listening to Uncle Jesse sing with the Beach Boys on repeat. I don’t think I am missing anything, am I? Oh, right…I also want to get into the drifting circuit. But that’s after the money starts rolling in.

So until the day I am cruising the PCH in a GT-R or S14 (another dream car), learning to surf on a custom-built board by my buddy, Thelo, eating expensive cheese and drinking wine on a secluded Malibu beach, and having my spirits crushed when I find out that, sadly, Sharkey’s closed down a good while back, I will hold steady. It’s like John Lennon said: Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans. And it’s s also like Garth said: Live in the now!

…Still, it’s fun to talk about, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

