Tequila through the Winter. Jose Cuervo Reserva de la Familia & snubbing the rules.

Nowhere does it actually say that tequila drinks aren’t acceptable after Labor Day, say, like wearing white or sitting on a rooftop patio in the snow. Sure, a cool margarita isn’t the ideal beverage for a crisp Autumn eve, normally reserved for a good IPA or lager, but I just see no end to my recent kick of loving all drinks tequila.

Last night, Amanda and I stumbled into Argonaut to pick up a bottle of said poison, Jose Cuervo, in particular. Not my fave, but a good standard. Before leaving, though, a box caught my eye. It was initially the tiger scrawled on the side of it. “Oh hell yes,” I said as I grabbed it from the top shelf, noticing it was the Jose Cuervo Reserva de la Familia. The awesomeness factor wore off (or became more legit) when I saw the $120 pricetag. Needless to say, I didn’t leave with it. But dammit if I didn’t want to. Maybe I’ll put it on the Christmas list…

I then promptly went back to Amanda’s and made a huge pitcher of Margs and watched my new fave TV series, “Hung.”

Leave a Reply

