100 Days of Ties. Or 119 if you’re keeping track.

It’s September 3, 2010. I made the decision, today, I will wear a tie each and every (work) day, from now until the end of the year. So it’s less than 119, actually.  It’s nothing Earth-shattering, but it’s time I re-stepped up my game and got classy again. I’ve been hoarding funds as of late and am in dire need of a shopping spree for new neckwear and clothes in general.

Today’s tie comes courtesy of my friends at Lumina, where methinks it’s proper to drop a few bucks on this. Slick ties, great people, good price. Diggit.

Now, do I have the gumption and follow-through to see out this “a tie a day” goal?

15 responses to “100 Days of Ties. Or 119 if you’re keeping track.

  1. Interesting. On Tuesday, June 22nd, I launched the “No Socks Summer” campaign. I have gone 73 days strong and as summer nears its’ end, I have been thinking about debuting a “Fall Fashionable Sock” project. Thoughts?

    • momentumoffailure

      Funny you mention socks. I was just thinking about how underrated the sock is as an accessory. I feel it doesn’t get the attention it deserves. That said, I applaud and encourage your effort and idea.

  2. I’ve instituted ‘Tie Tuesday’ for the better part of a year now. It’s a fun tradition. Maybe I’ll step my game up and get on it every day like you’re doin.

    • momentumoffailure

      Gotten a lot of snarky comments and some really nice compliments so far. I work in a town that’s very laid back, so ties aren’t necessarily worn much. When I started working here, I got lax in my wardrobe. Feels good to ramp my game back up.

  3. Total fan, you can do it, even if you are the only guy in Boulder wearing neck ties 🙂

  4. I think a great vest is also a nice way to dress up the usual work wear situation for men. I work from home so it’s nice to make the effort when I need to go run errands, etc.

  5. You know this post makes me happy!

  6. Hey man. I love the blog. In case you haven’t checked, J. Crew is having a pretty rad tie sale . You would appreciate it.

  7. I hope your efforts allow others to join the tie crusade. Good luck to you!

  8. Pingback: 100 Days of Ties Project | the momentum of failure

Leave a Reply

