HOW TO: Reignite a seemingly lost passion.

As we get older, passions and priorities change. In my younger years, I loved rockin and rollin all night long with my band, surving the days on very little sleep and usually a kick ass hangover. I was fine with it then. As the years went by, the lifestyle began to wear on me, and I discovered other things I liked doing more than staying out til all hours of the morning after playing a sweaty set at the local dive. These included a steady relationship, becoming more career-minded, traveling, and really just quieting down. It has now been 4 years since I took the stage. In fact, I have footage from the last set I did with my band, Stab! Heart! Kiss! Kill!.

For whatever reason, though, as of late, I have decided it’s time to dust off the axes of yesteryear and get to writing some new tunes. It doesn’t mean I have to stay out til the wee hours then rise early and be a mess for work the next day, no. It’s all about finding that balance. I’ve already found a bandmate, a practice space, some old lyrics, and, what set me off to the umpteenth degree, was stumbling upon the tunes of Max Bemis and the Painful Splits.

I’ll admit that when I first came across this, I had no idea who Max Bemis was. Turns out, he’s the singer from Say Anything, the LA-based pop-punk rock outfit. Plus, how could I not be intrigued with an album cover as cute as this one? Hewwo puppy. I did a few more searches on this guy and it turns out, according the Sayanythingmusic.com:

For a limited time and in limited supply, and available EXCLUSIVELY on the Say Anything/Motion City Soundtrack tour, Max will be selling a CD made up of 10 original songs under the name “Max Bemis and the Painful Splits”.

Going to the shows is the only way of purchasing a CD, each of which will be signed by Max himself. Max has announced that this is not his first official “solo” record, but instead a collection of songs he’s really proud of and wants to share with Say Anything listeners, or whoever comes to the shows.

Fair is fair. In the meantime, do yourself a favor and delight in the music of Bemis and the true passion with which he sings.

It got me wanting to rock again. Now, for a killer band name…

2 responses to “HOW TO: Reignite a seemingly lost passion.

  1. Dude, that’s awesome! It’s been almost 10 years since I played on stage. At that point it was a cover band called Absolute Zero. In high school, though I also did the punk thing with the long hair, flannels, and ripped jeans. Sophmore year it was Unpretty, then Timothy Grass junior year, and Splatterdash senior year. I miss that stuff. Thanks for getting me to think about it.

  2. band name:
    POON WOLF

Leave a Reply

