100 Days of Ties: Day 36: Astute and ready for the week

Shirt, cardigan, tie: J. Crew / Glasses: Paul Frank / Picture quality: Terrible

In my morning rush today, not only did I end up missing my bus, but I totally forgot my camera too as I got all my gear together for the week. Thought I threw everything into my bag last night to save some time this morning but wouldn’t you know it, left the camera on the charger….at least, I hope that’s where it is. I’m sure it is. Otherwise, Imunnabe pissed. However, since I am 100% commited to this lil project of mine and because I liked how I looked today (especially after some very nice words from a very spoecial few people yesterday), I fired up the ol’ Photo Booth application and snapped a desk shot. The one thing I learned from this picture? Don’t use Photo Booth on this Mac ever again for anything. Or, just get a new computer. Or use your cell. Or don’t forget your effing camera.

All good things.

READER SUBMISSIONS

 

Sam Jacobs / EatingEverywhere.com - "Sitting at home with a raging head cold is no reason to lose the tie; however, loosening it is perfectly acceptable." Shirt, Tie, Cardigan: J.Crew / Glasses: Giorgio Armani (circa 2000) / Tissues: Target

Alan Wegrzyn / UNCMN / Untitledshop.tumblr.com - Tie: nordstrom / Cardigan: ezekiel / Shirt: wesc / Bracelet: rugby rl / Watch: Nixon / Denim: naked and famous

Stephen Lloyd Dapasen / Twitter.com/SDapasen - Navy Knit Tie: Lands End - thrifted $1.50 / Cardigan: Calvin Klein - thrifted $1.50 (got it half off LOL!) / Polka Dot Shirt: Visvim / Mac Jacket: J. Crew thrifted $3.50 / Khaki Pants: Gap

Story on the tie:
Like the majority of my tie collection (about 90%) this was bought from a thrift store. Except I believe this particular tie found me. A few weeks ago, I met with my sister and nephew for lunch and it just so happened that a thrift store was located a few doors down from the restaurant we ate in. Anyways, the thrifter that I am went in to browse around & see what the store had. Lo & behold there was a tie rack full of ties selling for $1.50 a piece. Scanning through the collection, I found this navy knit tie just in time for the fall. I flipped the tie around, to my surprise it was Lands End & Made in the good ol’ USA. So I grabbed it & payed the cashier the $1.50. Major steal!
Ladies and Gents, never sleep on your local thrift store. You’ll find a wide array of ties in all fabrics, patterns, colors, brands on the cheap (never spent more than $3 on a tie from any of my thrift store purchases)

Ryan Sumner / DenimDiary.net - blue monday: Tie: Vintage Austin Manor / Shirt: J. Cre

Join the 100 Days of ties and submit your pictures.
One response to “100 Days of Ties: Day 36: Astute and ready for the week

  1. Good looks today guys. Sorry no tie post from me today. We will see what happens tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

