100 Days of Ties: Day 39: Tying up a Hill Side Tie while the world sleeps

Tie: Hill Side / Jacket: Gant Rugger / Shirt: Modern Amusement / Belt: Tanner Goods / Dishes: Dirty

As the Autumn season pushes on and the days get shorter and shorter, it get tougher and tougher to get up and get going in the mornings. My girlfriend doesn’t know how I do it, but I do. I pry myself from the warm sheets under the heavy comforter while the rest of the world, save for the early morning anchors and the other Denver to Boulder commuters sleep. I am dedicated to making it in on time (read: early) to work after picking out the ensemble for the day. And therein lies a bit of a dilemma…

That early in the morning, as I walk to the bus station, it is colder than any other point in the day except when the sun once again sets in the eve. I don the heavy peacoat or, today, the Gant Rugger Toggle (review to come, btw), scarf, knit cap, gloves, etc, and proceed on my 20-25 minute walk downtown. Thing is, as the day grinds on, the weather warms and I find myself not needing the heavy coats as I go out to lunch, but leaving the office in just a shirt is too cold. Not that I am whining in any way as sporting the jacket and being TOO warm is always better than being TOO cold. I am just saying, it’s tough to plan accordingly. Especially out here in the mile high… you never know WHAT the hell you’ll get.

READER SUBMISSIONS

Brent / DimpledFourinHand.Wordpress.com - Shirt, Tie: TM Lewin

Jeremiah Simmons / aheadlongdive.com - Tie: American Apparel / Shirt: J Crew / Pants: J Crew / Belt: Billykirk

L.A.S / sartoriallyinclined.blogspot.com - Shirt: Lands End / Tie: Ovadia and Sons / Tie Bar: Amazon.com / Jacket: Barbour

Sabir M. Peele / Twitter.com/MensStylePro215 - Tie: J. Crew / Shirt: Tommy Hilfiger / Lucky Bamboo Plant: Ikea

Douglas Geller / Director of Marketing & PR, Gant USA

And because this morning on the bus I listened to the Black and White album cover to cover and it’s easily one of the best I’ve heard in the recent years of music, I wanted to include a picture of one of my fave bands, The Hives.

I want one of those ties. Where to get one....

Mark your calendars. I counted down to the last day of the official 100 Days. It’ll live on far past, i’m sure.

Join the 100 Days of Ties and submit your pictures.

8 responses to “100 Days of Ties: Day 39: Tying up a Hill Side Tie while the world sleeps

  1. That Gant Rugger jacket is great. Did you pick it up on sale from the Wharf folks?

  2. I would have suggested Sheplers or some other western wear shop for the Hives bowtie. Sheplers does not have them online but Absolute ties does:

    http://www.absoluteties.com/kencolbow.html

    May not be exactly what you’re after but they do have a plethora of colors. Good luck in any case.

  3. Two things: 1) Absolutely no J. Crew in your ensemble. Bravo, my friend.
    2) To solve your dilemma, I would bring a cardigan to your office and just leave it there. This way if you’re in this situation in the future—which you invariably will be—you’ll have the layer you need to keep you toasty.

    • momentumoffailure

      Actually, it’s funny you say this. I have taken to doing exactly that. I leave SOME article here. That way, when I trek to Chipotle for a burrito bowl, I am not shivering to and fro. I appreciate though the advice. great minds… as they say.

  4. thanks for the inclusion

    This is good company to keep.

Leave a Reply

