100 Days of Ties: Day 43: Quality vs. Quantity – The big, the small, and the difference.

Epic Pose: Peacoat: Modern Amusement / Tie: the Hill Side / Bag, Sweater: Lands' End Canvas / Self-posing: Busted

One thing I have learned over the course of the past 43 days is the appreciation for the non-mass-produced ties. While I love the mass quantity of J. Crew, Banana Republic, H&M, and others, it wasn’t until I was introduced to a few smaller brands trying to make good in the tie world that I really understood the difference between the mass and the mini Now, when I say, “mini,” I in no way mean to degrade the brand. I simply mean that I can appreciate the difference between a mass produced tie and those of, say, Graham Withers, Pierrepont Hicks, Lumina and, as evidenced in today’s picture, the Hill Side. Before I wore any of these, I just couldn’t understand the pricepoint at which some these brands were selling their ties for. I would wait for even J. Crew to mark their $50 ones down to under $20 to purchase. Now, I guess, you could say I’ve seen the light that is the little guys* and getting what you pay for. Not only are you receiving a carefully crafted product that very few will own, you’re getting the satisfaction of helping a brand make its way in the world of fierce competition and oversaturation.

Carry on, my wayward sons…. Oh, and the reference above to “Pose: Busted,” refers to the fact that I was asked this morning what I was doing, posing on the sidewalk. No shame, kids. Be yourself.

READER SUBMISSIONS

Jayden English / Aye See from acompletesuccess.tumblr.com - Shirt: gap / Sweater: target / Tie: BCBG

Sabir M. Peele / Twitter.com/MensStylePro215 - Tie: Club Room / Suit: English Laundry

Drake Land / GiveMeIndiana.Tumblr.com - Coat: London Fog Main / Oxford: Old Navy Yellow / Tie: Horchow

Ryan Sumner / DenimDiary.net - Sweater, Shirt: Penguin / Tie: Vintage

Joseph Dobos: Shirt, Tie, Sweater: Brooks Brothers

Brent / Dimpledfourinhand.wordpress.com - Shirt, Tie: TM Lewin

* Again, by “little guy” I in no way mean inferior or to make a slight at you.

Cheers, on the excellent submissions, all!

Join the 100 Days of ties and submit your pictures.

Leave a Reply

