100 Days of Ties: Day 45: Decisions for Black Hawk, CO

Clearly, I need some organization....

I took the day off work today to pack and prepare for the bachelor party weekend of a close friend. It’s a given I will be wearing a tie today, but it won’t be until tonight when the boys hit the town ala Swingers, The Hangover and the slew of other Vegas flicks. Except, instead of Sin City, we’ll be wrecking the streets of the quaint Black hawk, CO. As I am currently packing, I am also trying to pick the right neackwear from the slew of offerings pictured. Yeah, before you throw stones, I am well aware of the fact I need a better tie rack, so you can just skirt the comments on that. Or well maybe I go tieless, eh? That whole two-top-buttons-undone look, for a real cheeseball thing…

Whatever way I go, you will not see from pictures. Whatever happens in Black Hawk…should stay in Black Hawk because, well, no one wants to see that.

READER SUBMISSIONS

Drake Land / givemeindiana.tumblr.com - I took the cold weather for my first chance at real layering. A charcoal sweater my mother-in-law bought me last Christmas over an Oxford from AE. The tie is brown with white, yellow, blue and red stripes from Yves Saint Laurent. I inherited that tie from my father. When I asked him how he got it he said, “I don’t know. Seems like it’s in the wrong place.” Amen.

Jonathan Curtis - Tie: Vintage Oscar de la Renta, Shirt: Five Four, Sweater: Banana Republic (thanks for doing this project. it's fun)

Ryan Sumner / DenimDiary.net - polo shirt, tie stolen from roommate.

Brent / dimpledfourinhand.wordpress.com - Action shot, as requested. Not the best but camera batteries died before I could attempt another. C'est la vie.

Brent / Dimpledfourinhand.wordpress.com - TM Lewin shirt and tie. Paul Fredrick mock cardigan. Chaps sport coat.

Mr. This Fits / thisfits.tumblr.com - Sweater/Shirt/Tie: Lands' End Canvas

Kickass, gents. Have a great weekend!

Join the 100 Days of ties and submit your pictures.

One response to “100 Days of Ties: Day 45: Decisions for Black Hawk, CO

  1. To answer a couple of the questions you posed yesterday…

    Favorite knot: four-in-hand. Pretty obvious, right? I have on occasion used a Prince Albert knot when needing a little more bulk in a knot using a thin tie. I also use somewhat of a Half Windsor on occasion.

    The Boy Scout Handbook taught me how to tie a tie. YouTube didn’t exist yet.

    Good luck and have fun in Blackhawk. Central City can be fun too.

Leave a Reply

