100 Days of Ties: Day 47: Go’wan, Gitman, and a little Bonobos for good measure

Tie: Gitman Brothers for Bonobos / Shirt: Wharf / Denim: Levi's / Jacket: Gant Rugger (my new fave)

Quite the frantic evening I had last night: I managed to forget my keys in Boulder and didn’t realize until I was nearly at my door in Denver that, “Oh holy wow, I am totally locked out without any way to enter my condo… Rad.” Sure I remembered the Gitman Bros. for Bonobos tie the good people at the pants brand sent my way, but my keys? Desk-bound. So after a slight freak out and a calming beer and shot and slice of pizza at the local hellhole (I continue to go to from time to time for some reason), I realized I coul call my dad to see if he had a spare set of keys. Oh glorious day, he did. A half hour later or so, he showed up, let me know, and we watched the Benglas get their asses handed to them…dammit. I like the Bengals…and Ohio…and all that.

That aside, I make no secret of my closeness with my family, and my dad dropping everything he was doing to trek from the suburbs to the city to deliver a key to his forgetful son really exemplifies this. Cherish family, friends. You only get one. And one that goes so head and shoulders beyond for you? Hold on tight.

READER SUBMISSIONS

Sara Carpeaux / pairdiem.com - Vintage Ralph Lauren tie

Drake Land / givemeindiana.tumblr.com - Old Dockers pants that used to be khaki and are now a gradient scale from tan to almost white in the areas of wear. Blood red cotton knit Tie from the old JC Penney Men’s Shop. A bizarre red, white and blue shirt from Men’s Wearhouse. If you rent enough Tuxedos for friends’ weddings you begin to ear free things. Believe me it was between this and a pair of square toed shoes.

Ryan Sumner / DenimDiary.net - J. Crew woven, vintage tie, vintage Harrington

Ryan Sumner / DenimDiary.net - express shirt, j. crew knit tie.... From Monday

Sabir M. Peele / Twitter.com/MensStylePro215 - Tie: JCrew / Blazer: Banana Republic / Pocket Square: Armstrong Wilson

Sweetness. The third shot from the ladies. Gents, keep it up too! This is going great. See you in NYC in no time. Special thanks, too, to Don Richman and crew at bonobos for the tie. It’s outstanding.

Join the 100 Days of ties and submit your pictures.

8 responses to “100 Days of Ties: Day 47: Go’wan, Gitman, and a little Bonobos for good measure

  1. the ladies on here kill it every time. batting 3 for 3.

    Sabir still batting 1.000

  2. I would bet that your Dad enjoyed it as much as you appreciated it. It’s kinda nice to still be needed even after the youngun is all growed up. 🙂

    Ryan, true story. The ladies are absolutely killing it. Great job, Sara!

    • momentumoffailure

      I called him again today to thank him profusely, and I could tell by his voice that he loved doing it. Feeling wanted is always nice. Plus, I am the responsible one in the family, so the whole clan got a good laugh out of me being the absent-minded one for once.

  3. The looks in here are all great today. Thanks for the love. Sara is definitely killing the game in here. Ryan, the yellow tie I am a BIG fan of it. Lets see what goes down tomorrow.

  4. Pingback: Contributor Spotlight: Gitman Brothers for Bonobos « the momentum of failure

Leave a Reply

