100 Days of Ties: Day 51: No buttons on a J. Crew tie, or less things that can break.

 

Oh, whoa, bro. Easy with the self-timers. Sweater, Shirt: Ralph Lauren / Tie: J. Crew / Bag: Lands’ End Canvas / Intersection: 16th & Sherman / Time: 6:14 AM

It’s rare that I wake on Monday’s as raring to go as I was this morning. It was probably the refreshing Breckenridge weekend with the family and some margs, a plethora of crossword puzzles and me getting absolutely obliterated at Checkers. So, despite staying up too late with thoughts bouncing around the ol cranium, I popped outta bed this AM to a chilly bedroom (I sleep better with the window open in the Winter), downed a glass of agua, suited up, and slid into the cold Colorado air.  Feeling as good as I was, I decided to throw caution against the morning wind and set the camera on a ledge near downtown and snap a few shots donned in the Gant Rugger Toggler, which has become my favorite article of outerwear rather quickly, before embarking down the hill and into the heart of the city. I was told that after I departed my fair town, it started snowing. That Toggler’s gotta hood though, so I would’ve been fine. Still, though, I was cold enough so I’m glad the snow staved off until I left.

 

Close Up. I ain't lion.

READER SUBMISSIONS

Ryan Sumner / DenimDiary.net - We all know that Jar Jar is an annoying chump, but you really can't argue with his skill on a four-in-hand. banana republic sweater, penguin shirt, vintage tie

Jonathan Curtis - Tie: Vintage/Sears Shirt: FiveFour Sweater: Penguin Picture: by my 2.8 year old son

 

Sabir M. Peele / Twitter.com/MensStylePro215 - This weekend my wife and I went down to Washington DC for some partying for a friend's birthday at Tuscana lounge. We stayed the Donovan Boutique hotel and that place is amazing. The only down side to DC is that the driving situation is terrible. All things considered it was a great time to party in the capital. My tie is Club Room and blazer is Banana Republic.

 

Drake Land / givemeindiana.tumblr.com - Monday Morning and back to cold weather. Indian Summer is over and the frost is back this morning. Filson Single Mackinaw in Navy. (Don’t trust the image on their website, this is what the color looks like in reality.) LL Bean Trim Fit Wrinkle Free Oxford in French Blue Green tie with Yellow & Red Diamonds from Liberty of London by Berkley Shoulder bag pieced together from things laying around the house.

Joseph Dobos - Tie: Ferragamo; Shirt (pink): Brooks Bros; Sweater: L. L. Bean

Brent / dimpledfourinhand.wordpress.com - TM Lewin shirt and tie. Breast Cancer Awareness pocket square.

Shawn Colley / Noble County Gold - Tie: JCrew Shirt: Lands' End Canvas Denim Work-Shirt Sweater: Lands' End Canvas Shaker Shawl Cardigan

Sabir M. Peele #2 / Twitter.com/MensStylePro215 - Monday business! #whatareyouwearing #100days Tie- Christian Dior - PS is a dinner napkin

 

Sam Jacobs / EatingEverywhere.com - “Practicing” for my “Seasonal” temp job – how the hell am I supposed to fit down that chimney?? “Festive” tartan tie – Polo Ralph Lauren / Shirt & Sweater – J.Crew

Jeremiah Simmons / Aheadlongdive.com - Psycho Bunny Tie

Many kudos to Sabir today for the multiple entries and Ryan for the inclusion of God-forsaken Jar Jar. But all of you, thanks so much. This is really getting great. I like the couple shot here from Sabir so keep those coming. Let’s meld heads on some new themes. Also, if you’re out and about on the weekend repping the neckwear and lookin good, snap a shot and submit. Like you see here, multiple submissions are cool.

Further, I am starting to really ink the details for the 100 Days of Ties party in NYC in January. If you have some ideas, throw them in the comments and I will take them into consideration.

Join the 100 Days of ties and submit your pictures.

 

2 responses to “100 Days of Ties: Day 51: No buttons on a J. Crew tie, or less things that can break.

  1. Ryan you are cracking me up with these pictures man.

  2. Ryan, great shot!

    Jonathan, you’ve got a prodigy if he’s taking pictures like that at 2.8 years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

