100 Days of Ties: Day 53: Billy Reid, foosball, and reshaping sweaters

Tie: Billy Reid / Sweater, Shirt: J. Crew / Foosball: I even lose to myself.

I hate foosball. Well, fair, I don’t HATE foosball, as I don’t really hate anything (aside from black jellybeans and traffic), but if I am out at a bar and they have a table and was asked to play, I would most likely decline. I just suck at it. I will make no secret of this. I figure though that at this point in my life, if this “sport” is one of the things I am not necessarily sweet at, I’m okay with that given my other talents.
To get back on topic though: as much as I have been down on J. Crew as of late, I need to draw attention to my sweater today. It’s been my favorite for years now with no good reason other than it was a gift from my mom and the fit is prime. It’s got its imperfections now sure and I was bummed when the elasticity wore out in the waist, but I gave it a wash, reshaped it, and it’s now good as the first time I wore it…aside from the holes.

 

Close up on the bus. Pen: Meininger's Art Supply / Crossword: CRUSHED

READER SUBMISSIONS

Drake Land / http://givemeindiana.tumblr.com/ - Picnic table look for today. Large Check AE shirt. Red Knit tie. BTS Dockers from my student teaching days.

Jeremiah / aheadlongdive.com - wool Polo RL paired with chambray.

Gabe Alonso / gabealonso.com - Today I let the shirt and tie do the talking. Italy-bought spread collar shirt/hilfiger tie/kenneth Cole tie bar/LE Vest

Brent / dimpledfourinhand.wordpress.com - Blue twill TM Lewin shirt, Jos Bank tie, Lands End sweater, thrifted Jos Bank sportcoat and Robert Talbott pocket square.

ThisFits.Tumblr.Com - Sweater: Lands' End Canvas Shirt: J. Crew Tie: Polo Ralph Lauren

Ryan Sumner / DenimDiary.net - busy again... sheesh. i'll be cool and creative again tomorrow! ben sherman sweater, j. crew tie, claiborne woven, ben sherman belt, levis 501, top siders

Sabir M. Peele / Twitter.com/MensStylePro215 - Bowtie by Countess Mara with shirt/suit by H&M - Here is a blast for the summer. Today I am home and not getting dressed at all but I still wanted to throw a great tie out there. I wore this outfit to a summer wedding of a family friend. The tie is by Countess Mara and the shirt and suit are by H&M. My shoes are brown suede wingtip loafers by Mercanti Fiorentini. In my hand you will see a plum tomato that was grown in our garden this summer. We literally grew over 300 tomatoes this summer.

David / thenaturalaristocrat.blogspot.com / Tie by Brooks Brothers / Shirt by Robert Talbott / Jacket was inherited from my grandfather

Thanks, all, for the submissions. As far as the NYC party goes in January, I am currently looking fdor venues and possibly sponsors for it. If you know anyone, let me know. Got a few leads and interested parties, but the more the merrier.

Cheers and get your tie shots in for the 100 Days project!

One response to “100 Days of Ties: Day 53: Billy Reid, foosball, and reshaping sweaters

  1. Pingback: About The Ben Sherman Women Vest

Leave a Reply

