Advice from the Pretty Girls: Question – At what point does a guy’s style become too much?

So, I wanted to reinstate the advice from the pretty girls segment and I have a question….

Got it from Getty

At what point does a guy’s style become too much? Or when does it look like he’s trying too hard versus dressing appropriately for the occasion?

What tips can you offer for him to adhere to and/or avoid?

Will

“A guy’s style becomes too much when it’s no longer effortless and takes longer to get ready than I do.  Guy’s take note, dress in what makes you feel comfortable and gives you confidence. Doing that will make you very handsome and make me swoon. ”

– Jennifer / thelastscout.blogspot.com

“Do not over accessorize. Chain necklaces, bracelets, rings, watches, and cuff links are too much.”

– Jennifer

“For me personally, I get the feeling a guy’s style has gone too far when I look at him and what he’s wearing makes me feel uncomfortable. I’m a huge proponent of appropriate dressing – wear for what you do. So when I see a guy wearing clothes that are trendily slim (and too tight for him) or he’s wearing an exact duplicate of GQ spread from this month’s issue, I just think, is he comfortable in that? When he looked in his closet this morning, did he pick that out as an expression of himself or because someone told him to? I think the real moral is to just wear what works for your body type, wear for what you do and what you love to do, and most importantly respect yourself and your appearance. I think it’s hard not to look modestly dashing when going by those rules of thumb.”

– Christine / neaststyle.wordpress.com

“It’s really not what you wear but how you carry yourself, confidence is key. A guy can look equally as sexy and well dressed in a tshirt and a pair of jeans and a suit (style tip: when it comes to suits grey is the new black) Personally, I find it extremely attractive when a guy is not afraid to experiment with clothes and makes any trend he wears his own and one of a kind.”

– Kate / BTUnique.com

“As always, confidence has a lot to do with it. If you’re convinced you can pull it off, you’ve already convinced almost everyone else. Be yourself but be mindful of the occasion; at a wedding you should not be getting more attention than the bride, for example. I love a well dressed (and original) man, but no one wants to be paired with a clown.

On the practical side, here are a few good rules of thumb: only wear one outlandish or bright article at a time and keep the rest neutral, or if prints and textures are your thing, keep them all in a similar palette.”
– Sara / PairDiem.com
Got a question for these fine lasses? Ask away.
One response to “Advice from the Pretty Girls: Question – At what point does a guy’s style become too much?

  1. I don’t like defining whether a guy or anyone for that matter is trying too hard in terms of his/her personal style. It’s called ‘personal style’ for a reason. I can’t say if he’s trying too hard because maybe he is- but maybe he just dresses that way because it’s his natural inclination. I may wear a lot of trends together, but that doesn’t mean that I’m trying too hard- it just falls under my personal style. Sure, people may think others are trying too hard by their own personal standards of dressing, but what’s the ‘too hard’ standard? There really isn’t one.

Leave a Reply

