100 Days of Ties: Day 57: I haven’t worn Dockers in maybe 15 years

Tie: Gitmn Bros. for Bonobos / Sweater: Lands' End Canvas / Shirt, Socks: J. Crew / Pants: Dockers Khaki Waders / Shoes: LL Bean Ranger Mocs / Witty Comment: Missing

I think it’s been since maybe grade school or a time I had to borrow a pair of pants from my father for church that I donned a pair of Dockers. But when I read about their khaki waders on Jeremiah’s blog I decided to give the brand that I until now attributed to that of which my mom would buy for me another go. The fit, the break, the color are all good. But what really got me, I s’pose was the fact that even if I wasn’t too keen on the pants when they came, the pricepoint of less than $50 (pre-tax, etc) made the purchase feel less like a commitment and more like a “Why the hell not?”

And you pair them waders with a Lands’ End / J. Crew / Modern Amusement / LL Bean kit? Tuesday, so far, is looking good, both physically and professionally. Boosh.

Submissions

Jeremiah Simmons / aheadlongdive.com - American Apparel Navy Tie paired with Black Watch Tartan

Drake Land / givemeindiana.tumblr.com - Tuesday Lands’ End Head to toe LE Blazer, LE Wrinkle Free Oxford, LE Tie, LE Rugby Bear. That Roosevelt-esque bear was mine when I was in elementary school, now that my wife is pregnant he, and his bear friends, have come back out of the attic in hopes of being loved again by the child to be.

Douglas Mayorga - the tie, tie bar, jacket, shirt, had and gloves are all J.Crew...actually everything is J.Crew belt and jeans too!

Ryan Sumner / denimdiary.net - Ron Burgundy called. He wants his lip sweater back. Chair, desk, oil painting, tie - 60's vintage Woven - Penguin, Levis - STF.

Paul Arnow / dreamsofperfection.wordpress.com - Rainy Day = Tie: J. Crew, Shirt: Lands' End Canvas, Rain Jacket: Brooks Brothers... Bean Boots down below

The progression of the submitted pictures has really been great to see. New faces, new poses, growing mustaches (which I cannot do), and continued support of the project. Fun to see. NYC is going to be fun come January. Who’s in?

Join the 100 Days of ties and submit your pictures.

One response to “100 Days of Ties: Day 57: I haven’t worn Dockers in maybe 15 years

  1. ok. i am definitely down for NYC. Is the date final? Southwest has a fare sale going on through monday, so I’m thinking about booking tix now. Should I pull the trigger on the plane and we can work out plans later?….

    http://www.southwest.com/html/travel-extras/promotions/winterSale.html?RMID=L_101123_CNS_B&RRID=cnlhbmxzdW1uZXJAZ21haWwuY29t&src=MAILCNSTUES00000B101123

    once i do… that totally makes it official…. haha.

Leave a Reply

