This is growing up: A sale isn’t always a sale at the Gap.

40% off any single full priced item on select Wednesdays and Thursdays in December? Well, thanks, Gap. No, really. I know that sounded sarcastic, but it was in no way meant to sound as such. And for this generous offer, I am actually going to decide to not take mass transit one day this week and drive, just so I can pop into the local Gap locale on the right day to take advantage of such savings.

Good deal...?

I was handed the ‘book of savings’ when I stumbled upon the Birdseye sweater I had been, well, (birds)eying for a bit. Sweet deals. So, yeah, I made a point of checking out the supply that coming Weds. I came across a herringbone blazer but not in my size. “Got this in a small?” “I’ll check….. Nope. Closest one is in Loveland (50 miles north of Denver). It’ll be this price, plus the 40% off and $6 shipping on top.” “Naw, I’m good.” Damn. But wait…is this a blessing in disguise?

Let’s look at this logically. What is a sale? It’s when a store marks down items to push more product and attract more customers. Did I need that blazer? Actually, kind of. I need a good blazer. But when I found out they were out of my size in store, did I need anything else that I browsed? No. And in my browsing and trying on, I realized that. I realized too that this was a very grown-up decisions. I wasn’t at the mercy of this 40% off deal any longer. Yeah, snagging a $60 vest for a fraction of that is a good deal, but I didn’t need it. I wanted it. Need vs. want is a fine line. And it’s a line I can now see clearly.

F*ck a sale.

3 responses to “This is growing up: A sale isn’t always a sale at the Gap.

  1. I suppose it depends what is on sale, sometimes you can get some really good stuff (not necessarily from GAP but in general). But you’re right, stores know that people usually buy things they hadn’t planned on when they are on sale, it has to do with the psychology of perceived value.

    I always grew up with my father, the business man and quintessential deal maker, telling me to never pay retail for anything other than food, essentials or custom items (occasionally you have to pay retail for things you have been wanting for a while and can’t find them on sale or in your size). People waste too much money on instant gratification and then wonder why they aren’t getting any richer. Instead of saying “f*ck a sale”, I would say it’s more like “f*ck buying things you shouldn’t be buying”.

    As for that blazer, set up an RSS feed on ebay with your size and wait till something good pops up.

  2. momentumoffailure

    Yeah and I grew up with a like-minded father, as well. I agree with editing the sentiment from eff the sale to eff what you don’t need. It’s just hard to see it sometimes.

    It was just a relaization I had meandering between the denim section and the suiting trying desperately to find an item to take advantage of the 40% off. I tried on a bunch of stuff and said, “I could see me wearing this maybe…” But exiting the fitting rooms, something came to me, “Sales happen all the time. I’m outta here.”

  3. Great point. I fully agree. I still receive email offers from the Gap, so I know that “sales” occur very frequently. The homogeneous offerings from that store, as well as Banana Republic and J. Crew, do not entice me to bite unless the price is right. The only downside is that I also require the smallest size available, so I might be left in the lurch by the time prices are cut or discounts are offered. Still, it’s always good to think like an adult before pulling the trigger and giving away hard-earned money.

Leave a Reply

