100 Days of Ties: Day 81 and time to break out the J. Crew Down Jacket.

Went all J Crew today. Not on purpose. Just how it went.

It was cold as hell this morning. Hell, in this scenario, is not the flaming inferno but a frigid wasteland of icy sidewalks, rosy cheeks, and no escape from a blistering wind. Luckily, and I was actually looking forward to it based on the reco from Jennifer Broome, I got to don the Crew Puffer I acquired last year and haven’t worn. Compliments galore from lots of folks already on the bad boy. And while that’s all well and good, it’s warm as all get out. Quite nice.

But dammit, if I don’t need some new denim. Kick the tires and light the fires.

Submissions

Drake / givemeindiana.tumblr.com - I’m trying to be positive this Tuesday. I’ll work like a dog, finish a book, make some phone calls I’ve been putting off and come home to the family asap. Stafford oxford Tie by Havard Coop American Living khakis Handmade satchel.

Shawn / http://www.noblecountygold.com - Tie: The Hill-Side Blanket Tie Shirt: Lands' End Canvas Heritage Oxford Pants: Dockers Khaki Waders Belt: RRL Boot: Quoddy Jacket: Barbour Bag: Filson

Carson / Twitter.com/cjs_254 / Tie: Cordial Churchman / Tie bar: Vintage (ebay find) / BD: J Crew / Jeans and Wingtips (not pictured): vintage store and ebay finds…

Ryan / denimdiary.net - Rugby jacket, again.... Gant Rugger OCBD, military tie, vintage rifle tie bar, Ben Sherman belt, Levis Indigo STF, Bass Weejuns. Had to send extra close-up of the rifle because I've fallen in love with it.

David / TheNaturalAristocrat.com / Tie by Polo / Shirt by Yves Saint Laurent / Suit by Polo (vintage Made in USA, wool/cashmere blend, purchased with my Christmas bonus) / Pocket Square also by Polo / Givenchy calfskin oxfords (on their last leg, but still some of my favorite shoes) down below

Sabir / Mensstylepro.com - Tie by Ben Sherman. Rubber rat on my shoulder watching my back.

Hit The Links

NYC Party RSVP – NOW

Submit your 100 Days pictures here

8 responses to “100 Days of Ties: Day 81 and time to break out the J. Crew Down Jacket.

  1. great combo, Carson. Love the colors.
    awesome rat, Sabir.
    and finally… killer jacket, Will.

    I need some new denim too! I’m a year into these Levi’s and I think I need to retire them. I want something American-made.

  2. momentumoffailure

    Let the denim search begin, my friend. And thanks for the kudos on the jacket. It has been on the hanger for far too long.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention 100 Days of Ties: Day 81 and time to break out the J. Crew Down Jacket. | the momentum of failure -- Topsy.com

  4. Good looks all around. Ryan, it looks like you are beaming up with the light bars running through you.

  5. I always enjoy your pictures but the background views in this one are awesome. Very nice.

    • momentumoffailure

      Thanks, Caroline. I love taking them as much as I love posting them. Gotta be fairly unabashed and come to terms with the fact that I am in no way a professional photog nor is my camera on par. But, it’s fun regardless.

  6. Been a reader for awhile and this is my first comment, as I feel compelled to offer some (unsolicited) advice. Over the Xmas holidays I found a cool shop (Loop, in Waterloo, Ontario) near my folks’ place that carries Naked & Famous denim. I got a pair of gorgeous indigo selvage for $140 CDN, which is like $80 less than anything comparable, and they’re made in Montreal from killer Japanese denim. They make a pair that feel like flannel on the inside and outside (some of the thread is pulled out and then woven back in), and they’re perfect for fall/winter here in Toronto (or there in Colorado). They also have a “cashmere” selvage that feel like wading through a pool filled with kittens. The Skinny Guy fit isn’t too skinny (I wear them to work in an office), and the Weird Guy fit is comparable to what you’re wearing in the photo above. And no, I don’t work for them. 🙂

    Anyway, they’re worth checking out if anyone in your vicinity stocks them. Stay crispy!

    • momentumoffailure

      Thanks, Matt, for the heads up. I also got a line of some Left Field denim off a recco from Brad at CWAC. It’s gonna be a good year and a big year for denim, methinks. Lots of new brands emerging at higher quality then we’re used to or have seen yet.

      Thanks again for reading!

      Will

Leave a Reply

