100 Days of Ties: Day 82, the dead leaves, the dirty ground, and riding the bus with my sister.

Scorpions, rocking my neck like a hurricane via Lands' End Canvas.

I switched it up a bit this morning and did a shot with a new camera app I got on my phone. I liked the way it turned out, so I used it in lieu of the standard pose. And, no, my sister isn’t on the bus with me today, but she does delight in taking the Light Rail from the burbs to the city to come see me, so she’s with me in spirit.

Anyway, I strapped on the Lands’ End Canvas scorpions today with the Animal Command jacket and an svelt OCBD from J.Crew. My dapper feeling almost had the kibash thrown on it as I headed out the door this AM and slipped on a patch of black ice at the foot of the stairs of my building. Luckily, it was 6:30 and no one was walking by. I would have looked quite the fool. Or not. I don’t think I really would have cared…

Submissions

Ryan / denimdiary.net

So after I travelled to the UK in December, I went to Egypt to meet my family for a holiday vacation.  Some of you know that I lost my bags & spent all 8 days in Egypt with the same clothing and some clothes i had purchased from an “Egyptian Cotton” store.  I had plans to wear my Dessert Boots in Egypt (full circle!) and also to take a picture in front of the great pyramids in a tie for #100Days.  Lucky for me, I at least was wearing a tie and sweater when I flew into Egypt.  While I couldn’t wear it every day, I did throw on my Graham Whithers Tie with my newly purchased Egyptian Cotton woven and my (now thoroughly stretched out and worn) Ben Sherman sweater for my final day in Cairo.  While my backdrop may not seem as epic as 6000 year old temples or monuments, the magnitude of a city of 20 million that has existed for a millennium and is home to devout members of all three Abrahamic religions is mind-blowing.  This picture taken from Saladin’s mosque.

Drake / givemeindiana.tumblr.com

Yesterday, the world was my oyster. I’m hoping Wednesday holds more of the same. No matter what the day holds, I’m dressing for success.
– Croft & Barrow shirt
– Stolen tie
– LEC Blazer with grandfather’s United States Naval League lapel pin.

Gabe / gabealonso.com - j. Crew everything (herringbone tie and BD) and Kenneth Cole tie bar

David / TheNaturalAristocrat.com / Really poor pic today, but didn't had time to clean it up / Tie by Ralph Lauren / Shirt by Charles Tyrwhitt / Sweater from Scotland (lambswool, not sure of the maker) / Jacket by Chipp / 501s and To Boot New York loafers below

Alright so the NYC party is a full go, but there’s a new goal: To make it a charitable event, I am suggesting we all bring an item or two of clothing or a tie to throw in to a clothing drive of sorts. Details to come…

Hit The Links

NYC Party RSVP – NOW

Submit your 100 Days pictures here

2 responses to “100 Days of Ties: Day 82, the dead leaves, the dirty ground, and riding the bus with my sister.

  1. glad you weren’t hurt with your slippage, Will.

    and I’m very excited about charitable possibilities for NYC.

  2. Tough break Ryan, my first time out of the country I landed in Rome and my bags did not. I know what anxiety you must have felt. Luckily, mine found me the next day, it sounds as though you were not so lucky.
    Nevertheless, dapper in times of distress. Bravo

Leave a Reply

